American Wife: A Novel (Random House Reader's Circle)

By Curtis Sittenfeld

A type, bookish purely baby born within the Forties, Alice Lindgren has no concept that she is going to at some point turn out within the White condo, married to the president. In her small Wisconsin place of origin, she learns the virtues of politeness, yet a sad twist of fate whilst she is seventeen shatters her identification and alterations the trajectory of her existence. greater than a decade later, whilst the charismatic son of a robust Republican kinfolk sweeps her off her ft, she is stunned to discover herself admitted right into a international of privilege. And whilst her husband unexpectedly turns into governor after which president, she discovers that she is married to a guy she either loves and essentially disagrees with–and that her inner most ideals more and more run opposed to her public personality. As her husband’s presidency enters its moment time period, Alice needs to confront contradictions years within the making and face questions approximately most unlikely to respond to.

Show description

Dr. Bird's Advice for Sad Poets

By Evan Roskos

* “Self-deprecating humor abounds during this debut novel that draws no punches in regards to the adventure of melancholy and anxiousness for its youngster protagonist. . . . eye-catching introspection from a profitable character.”—Kirkus stories, starred review

Sixteen-year-old James Whitman has been yawping (à los angeles Whitman) at his abusive father ever considering that he kicked his older sister out of the home. James’s painful fight with anxiousness and depression—along together with his ongoing quest to appreciate what ended in his sister’s exile—make for a heart-rending learn, yet his wild, exuberant Whitmanization of the realm and willing humorousness continue this emotionally charged novel buoyant. A Morris Award Honor Book.

Show description

The Master of Go

By Yasunari Kawabata, Edward G. Seidensticker

Pass is a online game of method within which avid gamers try to encompass each one other’s black or white stones. easy in its basics, infinitely advanced in its execution, move is a necessary expression of the japanese spirit. And in his fictional chronicle of a fit performed among a respected and heretofore invincible grasp and a more youthful, extra glossy challenger, Yasunari Kawabata captured the instant during which the immutable traditions of imperial Japan met the onslaught of the 20 th century.

The festival among the grasp of pass and his opponent, Otaké, is waged over a number of months and layered in rite. yet underneath the game’s decorum lie tensions that eat not just the gamers themselves yet their households and retainers—tensions that flip this actual contest right into a duel that may basically lead to demise. Luminous in its element, either suspenseful and serene, The grasp of cross is an elegy for a complete society, written with the poetic financial system and mental acumen that introduced Kawabata the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Translated from the japanese by means of Edward G. Seidensticker

Show description

This Is Life

By Dan Rhodes

A twisted romantic comedy from some of the most specific writers around

In Paris, paintings pupil Aurélie Renard throws a stone and units in movement a series of occasions that might flip her lifestyles the other way up. without warning discovering herself in sole cost of a stranger's child, and with out notion how infants paintings, it is just due to assistance from her adoring professor and her gun-toting heartbreaker of a ally that Aurélie is ready to navigate her method throughout the so much amazing and calamitous seven days of her existence. in the meantime, in a Pigalle cinema, a unadorned guy is doing his top to teach the folks of Paris, Aurélie between them, what it potential to be alive.

Show description

The Invisibles: A Novel

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer shut, comes Cecilia Galante’s grownup debut concerning the advanced and robust bonds of girl friendship—a compelling, relocating novel that's advised in either the current and the past.

Thrown jointly accidentally as little ones at Turning Winds domestic for ladies, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and style fast bond over their afflicted pasts and shape their very own kin which they dub The Invisibles. but if tragedy moves after commencement, Nora is left to house the scary aftermath by myself because the different 3 women go away domestic and don’t glance back.

Fourteen years later, Nora resides a quiet, unmarried existence operating within the neighborhood library. She is content material to target her choice of “first traces” (her favourite starting strains from novels) and her puppy, Alice Walker, whilst out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. yet in the end those years, Ozzie hasn’t known as her to need a contented birthday. in its place, she tells Nora that Grace tried suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene back. Nora is torn: she is extremely joyful on the considered being involved together with her pals, and but she is hesitant at seeing those ladies after one of these lengthy and silent time period. reinforced by means of her associates on the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that units off a unprecedented chain of occasions that would swap each one in their lives forever.

The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How a lot of our pasts outline our current selves? And what does it take to enable pass of a few of our such a lot painful wounds and flow on? 

Show description

The Beautiful Indifference: Stories (P.S.)

Winner of the Portico Prize
Winner of the sting Hill collage brief tale Prize
Short-listed for the Frank O'Connor overseas brief tale Award

Sarah corridor has been hailed as "one of the main major and interesting of Britain's younger novelists" (The Guardian). Now, during this selection of brief fiction released in England to exceptional compliment, she has created a piece immediately provocative and mesmerizing. 

Show description

Mountain Angel (Northstar Angels Book 1)

By Suzie O'Connell

Aelissm Davis and Patrick O’Neil recognize of one another yet haven’t met. Her meddling uncle has been trying to find how to treatment that, and the occasions surrounding the unexpected loss of life of Aelissm’s boyfriend give you the excellent solution.

A gifted crafter within the box of business arts, Aelissm is used to dealing with issues herself, yet she could be in over her head with a pal who can’t take into account that she desires to be on my own within the wake of all that’s occurred. issues get much more advanced whilst, rather than suggestion, her uncle makes a decision to ship his detective—one Pat O’Neil—to Montana to maintain a watch on her. in the beginning, Pat desires to flip down the project, yet his boss has some degree. After 3 years of operating himself too challenging to maneuver prior the violent finish of his final dating, a holiday is strictly what he needs.

There’s no doubt that Aelissm’s uncle is taking part in matchmaker back. Pat isn’t prepared for a brand new dating and doubts he’ll ever be, yet his boss’s sassy, compassionate niece may be the lady to end up him improper. Aelissm isn’t searching for a guy, both, yet she is irresistibly attracted to Pat, a haunted guy with a steady middle and unhappy eyes. He may be the neatest thing to ever ensue to her… if she will be able to persuade him to stay.

The Northstar Angels will seize you by way of the guts as they end up family members isn’t continuously a bond of blood in Suzie O'Connell's heartfelt, passionate modern romance sequence set in Northstar, Montana, the place friendship and love are as bountiful because the clean mountain air.

"A nice vintage plot for a romance, and the log cabin within the snow lined woods of Montana the easiest position to begin a budding romance. this can be a good written novel."

-- The Kindle booklet Review

"The writer did an outstanding activity fleshing out the main points of the characters, their ideas, their backgrounds, the setting... it made this type of outstanding story."

-- All evening Books

"Reading Mountain Angel used to be an absolute deal with. Aelissm and Pat are characters we will be able to cheer for, and their family and friends are fogeys we want to know."

-- Ricki Wilson, writer of Maggie's Fall

The NORTHSTAR ROMANCES by means of series:

NORTHSTAR ANGELS:

Mountain Angel (Book 1)

Summer Angel (Book 2)

Wild Angel (Book 3)

Forgotten Angel (Book 4)

HAMMOND BROTHERS:

First intuition (Book 1)

Twice Shy (Book 2)

Once Burned (Book three) - Coming August 2015

Last hand over (Book four) - Coming past due 2015

A notice at the CONTENT: The NORTHSTAR ROMANCES are modern romances and include sensual scenes and delicate profanity which may be fallacious for delicate readers.

Show description

Hazing Meri Sugarman

By M. Apostolina

Poor, expensive Cindy Bixby is a complete loser. Has been all her existence. yet now as she enters collage, Cindy hopes to shed her loser methods -- get a few buddies and even perhaps (dare she imagine it?) get a boyfriend. Her first circulation out of loserdom: pledge Alpha Beta Delta.

There Cindy meets Meri Sugarman. Meri is not just attractive, she controls the sorority, a place that provides Meri extra energy than...well, possibly no longer God, yet definitely any one inside of a one-hundred-mile radius. (How, you ask? contemplate brand new expertise and what you may do with it for those who have been so (illegally) prone. Get the image? ;-) )

Meri teaches Cindy that she, too, might be ideal. she will be able to be appealing, attractive, and renowned, impression lecturers and politicians, or even have a boyfriend!

But whilst the recent Cindy crosses into Meri-only territory (hint: the place there is difficulty, search for boy), new -- very frightening -- Meri emerges. And Cindy realizes that at the back of all that good looks is an evil beast that needs to be stopped.

Show description

Los versos satánicos (Spanish Edition)

Los versos satánicos es l. a. novela más célebre, iconoclasta y polémica de Salman Rushdie.

Una referencia ineludible de l. a. literatura de nuestro tiempo.

Un avión secuestrado estalla a gran altura sobre el canal de l. a. Mancha. Dos supervivientes caen al mar: Gibrel Farishta, un legendario galán cinematográfico, y Saladin Chamcha, el hombre de las mil voces, autodidacta y anglófilo furibundo.

Consiguen llegar a una playa inglesa y notan unos extraños cambios: uno ha adquirido una aureola y el otro ve con horror cómo crece el vello de sus piernas, los pies se le convierten en cascos y las sienes se abultan...

Reseña:
«Una obra prodigiosa, brillante, deleitable.»
Nadine Gordimer

Show description

At The Bay: Short Story

By Katherine Mansfield

With their annual holiday coming to an finish, the Burnells and the Trouts spend the day on the seashore. whereas the kids dig for treasures within the sand, the adults examine the fleeting nature of existence and find out how to live.

HarperPerennial Classics brings nice works of literature to existence in electronic layout, upholding the top criteria in publication creation and celebrating analyzing in all its types. search for extra titles within the HarperPerennial Classics assortment to construct your electronic library.

Show description